Loading ...

How do you coach desire? | Coaching Youth (age 13-18)

We use cookies to improve this online community and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy. Click the cross to close this cookie notice. X

ad
Coaching Youth (age 13-18)

Leave group

Add a new tab

Add a hyperlink to the space navigation. You can link to internal or external web pages. Enter the Tab name and Tab URL. Upload or choose an icon. Then click Save.

The name that will appear in the space navigation.
The url can point to an internal or external web page.
Login to follow, share, and participate in this group.
Not a member?Join now
Posted in: Coaching Youth (age 13-18), General Forum

How do you coach desire?

Subscribe to RSS
  • As a younger coach I used to believe that the two hardest things to coach were anticipation and desire. Whilst I am less hard and fast about anticipation, I am currently experiencing issues with 3 players on my U17 football team when it comes to 1 v 1 situations.

I'm not talking physical strength, more a reluctance to enter a dual. The smallest player on my team regularly wins these battles against players twice his size, it's almost like he percieves it as a personal insult if he loses out. I have another attacker who wins balls time and time again that are only 25% in his favour. These 2 highlight to me that this is a mental rather than physical issue.

The 3 others may as well give the ball away if they come near another player as 90% of the time they barely compete. I have tried discussing one on one, speaking to parents, having other players approach them etc. It's at a stage where the other players are expresing frustration with these 3 as it affects the team. The performance level of the team was so different in our last game with and without these 3 players on the pitch.